To mark the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, artist Ai Weiwei has created a flag to celebrate universal human rights.

Arts organisations and human rights charities invite you to Fly The Flag for human rights on 24 — 30 June 2019.

From the Highlands of Scotland to the coast of Cornwall via cities, towns and villages across the UK, in galleries and theatres, shopping centres and offices, schools and libraries, both physically and online, people will come together to celebrate that human rights are for everyone, every day.

“I am honoured to have the opportunity to design a flag for the 70th anniversary for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. As we all come to learn, human rights are the precious result from generation after generation's understanding of the human struggle. I am proud to be a part of this force."

Ai Weiwei


Everyone can Fly The Flag for human rights in June 2019. Sign up to the mailing list to find out how you can get involved as an individual or as an organisation, and receive monthly updates about the project.


Schools in the UK will be encouraged to Fly The Flag and to discuss human rights with their pupils. You can download the creative learning resources for Key Stage 1 to 5 here.


The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) was created in 1948 in response to the global atrocities of war in the first half of the 20th century. It was a milestone document, drafted by representatives from all parts of the world.

How many of the 30 articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights can you name?

To discover all of them visit the UN website here


Co-producers & Co-commissioners

In addition to the co-producing organisations, individuals who have given their time and energy to this project include David Lan, Gbolahan Obisesan, Phyllida Lloyd, Erica Bolton, Kenneth Tharp and Alex Beard.

Additional Co-Commissioners


With support from the Paul Hamlyn Foundation and anonymous individual donors.


The following have so far signed up to Fly The Flag in June 2019.

Will you join them?

  • Action for Children’s Arts
  • Africa Centre
  • Akram Khan Company
  • Amnesty International
  • Art Fund
  • ArtsAdmin
  • Ava Hunt Theatre
  • Belarus Free Theatre
  • Birmingham Rep
  • Bush Theatre
  • Chineke Foundation
  • Clean Break
  • Common Wealth
  • Cornwall Museums Partnership
  • Counterpoints Arts
  • Coventry University
  • Dance Umbrella
  • Donmar Warehouse
  • Eden Court
  • Edinburgh International Festival
  • Emergency Exit Arts
  • English National Ballet
  • Environmental Justice Foundation
  • Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Fawcett Society
  • Fuel
  • Graeae Theatre
  • Historic England
  • Human Rights Watch
  • In Between Time
  • Julie’s Bicycle
  • Kali Theatre
  • Kiln Theatre
  • Liberty
  • Libraries Unlimited, Devon
  • Lisson Gallery
  • London College of Fashion
  • Lyric Hammersmith
  • Manchester International Festival
  • MIND
  • National College for Creative & Cultural Industries
  • National Museums Liverpool
  • National Museum Wales
  • National Theatre
  • Northern Stage
  • Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Old Vic
  • Prime Theatre
  • Refugee Action
  • RightsInfo
  • Roundhouse
  • Royal Academy of Arts
  • Royal & Derngate, Northampton
  • Royal Opera House
  • Royal Shakespeare Company
  • Sadler's Wells
  • Sage Gateshead
  • Serpentine Galleries
  • Shakespeare’s Globe
  • Slung Low, Leeds
  • Somerset House
  • South Bank Centre
  • Stonewall
  • Studio Wayne McGregor
  • Tate
  • Telegraph Museum, Porthcurno
  • The Core at Corby Cube
  • The Yard Theatre
  • Theatre Peckham
  • Tiata Fahodzi
  • Telegraph Museum, Porthcurno
  • United Nations Development Programme
  • What Next? National Network
  • Young at Art
  • Young Vic

Gillian Anderson, Caryl Churchill, Stephen Daldry, Noma Dumezweni, David Edgar, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Inua Ellams, Richard Eyre, Pete Fowler, David Hare, David Isaac, Kazuo Ishiguro, Francesca Klug, Helena Kennedy QC, Jude Law, Paul Mason, Ross Millard, Chi-chi Nwanoku, Geoffrey Robertson QC, Sir Ken Robinson, Juliet Stevenson, Wayne McGregor & Joe Wright